top of page

Student plans for winter break

As another semester at Delaware Technical Community College comes to an end, students aim to finish up strong and look forward to winter break.

Communications student John Kyritsis said he is looking forward to being in Wilmington on Christmas to see his family again.

“I’ll probably just be working, making a little money before the next semester starts up,” Kyritsis said.

“Usually I spend Christmas in Wilmington where most of my family is,” Kyritsis said. “Every now and then we hold Christmas down here in Southern Delaware.”

Some students plan to do more with their time, as radiology student Destiny Moor, looks forward to planning her wedding and relax, although that’s tough to do with a marriage coming up.

“Christmas morning is usually at my house and then we travel to either my sister’s house to watch my nephews open gifts,” Moor said. “Or we go to my mom’s and have Christmas dinner.”

Moor said she’s really excited for this semester to end but it has been really demanding.

“The first semester of radiology is the hardest,” Moor said. “I’m anxious to see what the next semester is like because at this point I’m familiar with a lot of the concepts, so it should be easier.”

Towards the end of the semester, students have projects and deadlines quickly approaching including a lot of work to do.

Although, other students just plan on working and enjoying their time away from the campus, Communications student Jeff Melvin, said that all he is looking forward to is sleeping and working.

“I spend Christmas at my house with my family,” Melvin said. “I’m just trying to get everything organized in my head, so that nothing goes left undone. Keeping all the deadlines straight.”

Melvin is also looking forward to next semester.

“I don’t have a lot of creative classes,” Melvin said. “I think it is going to be a bit easier and it’s going to be a good time.”

Dental Hygiene student Sheri Mills, plans to travel and get her life organized.

“Christmas is small for us,” Mills said. “We have a super small family so there is usually only six to ten of us.”

On the verge of her last semester, Mills plans to visit Ireland and Germany. “I’m just super excited to go there,” Mills said. “I can’t even begin to describe what it will be like.”

Mills can’t wait to graduate from Delaware Tech.

“I’m looking forward to next semester because it is my last one but at the same time, that is already overwhelming to think about.”

Communications student Lauren Moon, is anticipating going back to Wilmington to see her family. “I can’t wait to go shopping,” Moon said.

Moon typically spends her Christmases between her mom and dad’s house in Wilmington and Newark respectively.

“The semester needs to hurry up. I’ve enjoyed my time down here from Wilmington, meeting a lot of new people and I can’t wait for the next semester to start,” Moon said.

The semester officially ends Friday, Dec. 7.

Communications students gather before the end of the semester. From left, Suite Manager Chelsea Wootten, Jeff Melvin, SJ Furlow, John-Jack Kyritsis, Instructor Jess Farley, Jana Ruark, and Olivia Tennefoss. Photo by B. Ostan.


bottom of page